Uploads without error, no changes visible in OSM

Apr 27, 2012 at 6:16 PM

I'm new to using the OSM editor (but not new to ArcGIS). Everything seemed to work in ArcMap as described in the documentation when I downloaded OSM data, made edits, and submitted them to the OSM server. However, nothing is showing up in my OSM account (list of edits) or on OSM. It's as if nothing was sent. The OSM upload didn't encounter any errors. Message from tool below:

Executing: OSMGPUpload http://www.openstreetmap.org C:\Users\Eric\Documents\ArcGIS\Default.gdb\OSM2_osm_revision "Improved Rock River bank between 106 and 12 using 18 inch imagery from 2010" OSMCHANGE_FORMAT ""
Start Time: Fri Apr 27 09:52:56 2012
Opened changeset 11433333.
Submitting 1 features to the server...
Reconciling local data with server information.
Closed changeset 11433333.
Succeeded at Fri Apr 27 09:53:00 2012 (Elapsed Time: 4.00 seconds)

Thanks for any help with using the tools. I teach GIS and am hoping to have my students contribute to OSM using ESRI's tool.

Dr. Eric Compas
UW-Whitewater

Apr 29, 2012 at 1:25 AM

Did a bit more looking and found the URL to view a changeset. Here's mine that was made above: http://www.openstreetmap.org/browse/changeset/11433333

Looking at the changeset XML, none of the edits I made were included -- nothing sent to the OSM server? Is this a bug the OpenStreetMap editor or a problem in how I've configured it or am uploading data?

Eric

Coordinator
Apr 30, 2012 at 2:46 PM

Hello Eric,

It doesn't sound like you did anything wrong - I saw your changeset on Friday and sent it to our dev team to look into.  Will post as soon as they look at it.  Let me verify your workflow here: 1) Use Download, Extract, & Symbolize tool to download data to OSM. 2) Made edits to that dataset. 3) Use Upload to OSM tool to post back. Is that correct?

A question - did you add any columns or use 'append' to add any data to your dataset?  

Many thanks,

Christine

Developer